FREE CONSULTATIONTEXT OR CALL 24/7
Free Consultation:

Assault and Battery in Michigan

Assault and battery in Michigan is a serious criminal offense that carries severe penalties if convicted. If convicted, offenders could face hard jail time and very hefty fines. If you or someone you know is charged with assault and battery in Michigan, you’ll need a criminal defense lawyer to fight for your rights. Even if innocent, you will need an aggressive and experienced criminal defense lawyer like Attorney Nicole Blank Becker by your side. As a criminal defense attorney, she has mastered the courtroom in every arena and she does not back down.

Assault and Battery in Michigan

If you are found guilty of assault and battery in Michigan, you could face up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, severe punishment or penalties will be imposed upon you if you are convicted of other criminal charges relating to the assault and battery accusations, such as:

  • Domestic Assault
  • Aggravated Assault
  • Assault with Intent to Rob
  • Assault with a Dangerous Weapon (Felonious Assault)
  • Assault with Intent to Maim
  • Assault with Intent to Do Great Bodily Harm Less Than Murder
  • Assault with Intent to Murder

When these type of accusations arise, it’s very important for you to contact a criminal defense lawyer immediately to protect you against severe penalties and charges!

Penalties For Assault and Battery in Michigan

Assault or battery committed without a dangerous weapon is classified as a misdemeanor offense except in the cases of domestic assault, violence and/or by the identity of the victims (police officer or emergency medical personnel). Assault and battery that results in injury is classified as aggravated assault and battery and is punishable by more jail time.

For a simple assault and battery charge, the penalty is as follows:

-Up to 93 days in jail, a fine up to $500, or both,
-Probation up to two years, and restitution.
(Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § § 750.81, 771.2.)

For aggravated assault and battery charge, the possible penalties are as follows:

-Up to one year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, or both,
-Probation up to two years, and restitution.
(Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § § 750.81a, 771.2.)

If you are facing an assault and battery charge in Michigan, don’t waste any time and contact Attorney Nicole Blank Becker ASAP! You can reach her at 248-505-5929 or use our online contact form via this link. Attorney Nicole Blank Becker offers free consultations anytime of the day!

Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

3150 Livernois Rd. Suite 126
Troy, MI 48083
(248) 515-6583
law@nicoleblankbecker.com

We accept the following payment methods:


We serve the following counties: Macomb County, Oakland County, Wayne County, Washtenaw County, Ingham County, Lapeer County, Genesee County, Livingston County, etc.

We serve the following cities: Center Line, Eastpointe, Fraser, Grosse Pointe Shores, Memphis, Mount Clemens, New Baltimore, Richmond, Roseville, St. Clair Shores, Sterling Heights, Utica, Warren, Auburn Hills, Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clarkston, Clawson, Farmington, Farmington Hills, Fenton, Ferndale, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Keego Harbor, Lake Angelus, Lathrup Village, Madison Heights, Northville, Novi Oak Park, Orchard Lake Village, Pleasant Ridge, Pontiac, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak, South Lyon, Southfield Sylvan Lake, Troy, Walled Lake, Wixom, Allen Park, Belleville, Dearborn Heights, Dearborn, Detroit, Ecorse, Flat Rock, Garden City, Gibraltar, Grosse Pointe, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe Shores, Grosse Pointe Woods, Hamtramck, Harper Woods, Highland Park, Inkster, Lincoln Park, Livonia, Melvindale, Northville, Plymouth, River Rouge, Riverview, Rockwood, Romulus, Southgate, Taylor, Trenton, Wayne, Westland, Woodhaven and Wyandotte.


Michigan Criminal Sexual Conduct Lawyer
MI Sex Crimes Attorney
Blank Law, PC


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back To Top