The crime rate in Canton, Wayne County, MI is 40.4% higher than in other U.S. cities. The last five years have seen more violent crimes in Canton than in the neighboring towns of Plymouth, Northville, Novi, and Farmington Hills. Since 2008, sex crimes of rape and statutory rape in Canton have increased by an alarming rate of 53.33%, despite an increase in local law enforcement agencies.
If you have ever been accused of sex crimes, contacting a sex crimes lawyer is the first step in fighting back. An experienced sex crimes lawyer can make a distinctive difference in the rest of your life if you face sex crime allegations. You can not afford to hire anyone but the very best.
Canton Sex Crimes Lawyer
Attorney Nicole Blank Becker at Blank Law, PC is the most competent and accomplished Canton sex crimes lawyer in Michigan. After graduating from law school at Wayne State University in 2000, she started her successful journey as a criminal defense attorney by becoming assistant prosecutor at the Wayne County Prosecutor’s office.
She then became an assistant prosecutor in Macomb County. Due to her excellent work ethic and sincere devotion to her profession, she was quickly promoted to the esteemed position of Chief of the Sex Crimes and Child Abuse Unit, where, after serving a little under 13 years, she finally ventured into private practice as a sex crimes lawyer.
These threefold experiences of a prosecutor, head of the Sex Crimes and Child Abuse Unit, and lately of private practice as a sex crime attorney have made Nicole a powerhouse of sex crime cases, involving sexual assaults, sex offenses with the element of personal injury, false accusations, child molestation, child pornography, and statutory rape.
Our team of criminal defense attorneys is always at your disposal. We at Blank Law, PC pride ourselves in holding the highest standard of the attorney–client relationship. Call us now for free consultation at (248) 515–6583 or contact us online using our online form.
Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan – CSC Degrees
Sex crimes are regulated in Canton by the criminal sexual conduct (CSC) degrees set up in the Michigan State Legislature. There are four CSC degrees, with the less serious sex crime charges, such as unwanted sexual touching/criminal sexual contact, modulated under the CSC 4th degree, to the most severe sexual assaults of non-consensual sexual penetration in the CSC 1st degree.
CSC convictions can result in extreme penalties arising under the Michigan Penal Code. In-depth knowledge of both CSC and the associated penal code is tantamount to mounting a good criminal sexual conduct defense of any case.
All sexual conduct involving penetration falls under either the criminal sexual conduct 1st degree and criminal sexual conduct 3rd degree, whereas any sexual act of offensive touching is entailed in the criminal sexual conduct 2nd degree and criminal sexual conduct 4th degree.
CSC 1st and 3rd Degree
The most serious sex crime charges are of the first degree criminal sexual act, which entails sex crimes of sexual penetration. These include sexual penetration:
- Of a victim that is a person under 13 years old
- Of a victim that is a person aged between 13-16 where the offender has a position of authority, such as a teacher, blood relative to the 4th degree, doctor, employer, etc.
- That occurs in conjunction with the commission of another felony
The CSC 1st degree Michigan penalty includes a mandatory 25-year term, listing in the sex offender registry, and lifetime electronic monitoring.
The lesser sexual penetration sex crimes are charged under CSC 3rd degree. A person is guilty under the CSC 3rd degree if the person commits sexual penetration:
- With a victim that is a person 13 thru 15 years old
- Involving rape and statutory rape using force or coercion
- With a victim that is mentally incapacitated, physically helpless, in special education, or related by blood or affinity
The CSC 3rd degree Michigan penalty carries a mandatory minimum sentencing of one year in prison, with the max being 15 years, along with mandatory sex offender registration. Learn more of the differences between 1st and 3rd degree sexual penetration here.
CSC 2nd and 4th Degree
Non-penetrating sex crimes involving sexual assault of another person are classified as CSC 2nd degree under the following (but not limited to) circumstances:
- With a person under 13 years of age or a household blood relative up to 4th degree, aged between 13-16
- The actor is in a position of authority
- Victim being forced to submit using force or coercion
- Victim being mentally incapacitated
The CSC 2nd degree Michigan penalty carries a maximum imprisonment sentence of 15 years and mandatory registry as a sex offender.
A CSC 4th degree crime is a low felony/high misdemeanor sex crime of unwanted sexual touching. Common convictions include sexual touching of a
- Mentally incapacitated person
- Victim under an authority relationship
The CSC 4th degree Michigan penalty includes a prison sentence of up to two years, a fine of up to $500, and possible sex offender registration.
As seen above, any CSC charge will fundamentally affect your life. No other sex crime attorney has a more in–depth knowledge of the CSC degrees and Michigan Penal Code than Nicole Blank Becker. Having experience as both a prosecutor and a defense attorney, she can analyze and interpret the CSC charges from both sides of the equation. She can anticipate the prosecution‘s moves before they make it.
If you have been accused of any criminal sexual conduct charge or need more information regarding the CSC degrees, call our sex crime lawyers at (248) 515–6583 and book a free consultation. Any conversation between us will be held under an attorney-client relationship.
Nicole Blank Becker’s Special Expertise in Child Abuse, Child Molestation, and Child Pornography Cases
Child molestation and child pornography have turned out to be the plague of the 21st century. Studies show that over 20% of female adults and 5-10% of male adults recall childhood abuse. However, due to the nature of these particular crimes, where one can be charged with an act as well as an omission to act, the spectrum of charges falling under the child abuse Michigan Penal Code can be pretty broad.
Child Abuse/Child Molestation
Child abuse charges in Canton, MI also have four degrees, with the conviction of either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending upon the offense. The charges are not limited to physical harm, but also emotional and mental trauma. Indeed, in some cases, harm may not even be necessary as long as an intention to cause harm is found, which can lead to instances of false accusation charges.
Attorney Nicole Blank Becker has conducted thousands of children interviews at the county Child Advocacy Center (CAC). Her roles as the Head of the Sex Crime and Child Abuse Unit and as a criminal defense attorney taught her the delicate art of obtaining the truth from children while developing an instant relationship of trust with them.
Sometimes the prosecution of sex crimes can use circumstantial evidence without presenting the child witness to establish their case. Nicole knows all the tricks and trades of the trial process and excels in disconnecting the prosecution’s circumstantial evidence to prove your innocence.
If you or your loved one is charged with any child abuse charges, don’t delay and contact us now at (248) 515–6583 for a free consultation with our sex crimes lawyers.
Child pornography is classified as “any visual depiction of explicit sexual conduct involving a minor (children under 18 years of age).” It is both a state and federal crime and can earn up to 25 years in federal prison, a fine of up to $125,000, and a lifetime of humiliation being on the sex offender registry.
With that said, many cases arise due to the unintentional possession of such pornographic material, resulting in wrongful convictions. Nicole Blank Becker, a modern 21st century sex crimes defense lawyer, knows all the possible circumstances leading to a possession of child pornography charge. She excels at constructing an impregnable defense around your case that will quash your conviction.
If you know anyone involved in a child pornography charge, contact us now at (248) 515–6583 to book a Michigan criminal defense attorney free consultation with our sex crimes lawyers under a privileged attorney-client relationship.
Contact Nicole Blank Becker at Blank Law, PC and Let Her Create the Perfect Defense for Your Case
With the nature of sex crimes and the humiliation attached, you need sexual assault lawyers whose sole focus for the last 20+ years has been dealing with sex crimes. Sex crime lawyers with multiple specialties or straightforward public defenders will not do the trick.
Sex crime allegations can sometimes be as worse as a conviction. You need a criminal sexual conduct attorney who will fight aggressively for you, not settle for anything less than a complete quash of your allegations, and restore your dignity.
Our team of sexual abuse lawyers at Blank Law, PC understand the importance of your reputation and societal stature. We will do all that is in our power to restore your tarnished reputation and make you a proud member of Canton Township once again.
Do not settle for anything less than the best! Pick up the phone now if you have ever been accused of a criminal offense and call the best Canton sex crimes lawyer at (248) 515–6583 to book a free consultation.