Non Compliant Sex Offender in Michigan – What You Need To Know!
Being listed or registered as a sex offender in Michigan carries a lot of restrictions. Aside from getting your name, your personal information and criminal history listed in a public data record, there are several rules and regulations that you must strictly follow. These restrictions must be followed religiously or else face the consequences that might included hard prison time.
The Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act also requires registered sex offenders to regularly report to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office, or nearest state police post to verify their latest information. Failure to comply with this rule might result into a penalty of up to two years of incarceration. The act also requires all registered sex offenders to report all changes of their name, address, employment, vehicles and even their social media accounts. Failure to do so might result in up to four years of incarceration.
Here is more detailed information about the reporting requirements and restrictions under the Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act:
The Reporting Requirements MCL 28.725 requires offenders who are residents of Michigan to report in person and notify law enforcement immediately (defined as three business days) after they do any of the following:
- Changes or vacates his or her residence or domicile.
- Changes place of employment or employment is discontinued.
- Enrolls as a student with an institution of higher education, changes campuses, or enrollment is discontinued.
- Changes his or her name.
- Intends to temporarily reside at any place other than his or her residence for more than seven days.
- Establishes any e-mail address, instant message address, or any other designations used in electronic communications.
- Purchases or begins to regularly operate any vehicle and when ownership or operation is discontinued.
It is also noted that a non-compliant registered sex offender is classified as anyone who does any of the following actions:
- Fails to register
- Fails to change their address when they move or vacate a residence
- Fails to verify their address
- Fails to pay the $50 one-time registration fee and/or $50 annual fee
- Fails to sign a registration, notification, or verification form
- Fails to provide or update campus information
- Fails to provide or update vehicle information
- Fails to provide or update employment information
- Fails to provide name change
- Fails to report email address(es) and/or internet identifiers
- Fails to maintain a valid Michigan driver’s license or personal identification card
- Resides, works, or loiters within 1,000 feet of a school
Being a registered sex offender in Michigan is quite a heavy burden to carry. Not following rules, regulations and restrictions can result in jail time and can ruin your future.
If you or someone you know is registered as a sex offender in Michigan, you’ll need an aggressive, experienced and well respected Michigan sex crimes lawyer on your side. Nicole Blank Becker has all these credentials when it comes to sex crimes.