The penalties for criminal sexual conduct 3rd degree are extremely serious and life altering.
Although the penalties for CSC third degree are less than those for CSC 1st degree, they carry the second highest penalties within the Michigan criminal sexual conduct category.
Both 1st degree CSC and CSC third degree require sexual penetration in order to be found guilty or plead to either.
The penalties are different for CSC 1st degree and criminal sexual conduct 3rd degree, based on the AGE of the other person.
Where you can be charged with CSC 1st degree if the minor is under 13 years old, you will be charged with third degree criminal sexual conduct if the minor is between the ages of 13-15, often referred to as Statutory Rape.
The penalties for each are steep. For a CSC 1st degree charge you are subject to a mandatory minimum sentencing of 25 years, while for a third degree criminal sexual conduct charge you are subject to a mandatory minimum sentencing of one year.
CSC 3rd Degree Michigan Penalty
As stated above, for CSC 1st degree and criminal sexual conduct in the 3rd degree, the penalties differentiate based on the AGE of the minor.
If the minor is under the age of 13, you will be charged with CSC 1st degree, face a max penalty of life in prison AND be subject to mandatory minimum sentencing of 25 years in prison.
If the minor is between the ages of 13-15, you will be charged with criminal sexual conduct third degree, you will be subject to a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison AND be subject to mandatory minimum sentencing of one year in prison.
There are a number of different fact scenarios in which you can be charged with third degree criminal sexual conduct and, therefore, face the criminal sexual conduct third degree penalties.
Some examples of this include, but are not limited to:
- You have sexual relations, including sexual penetration, with a minor aged 13-15 years old (Statutory Rape)
- You have sexual relations involving sexual penetration with another adult, and that other person claims the sexual act was non-consensual (Rape)
- You are related to the other person and sexual penetration occurs
- The alleged victim is a student at either a public school or non-public school, and you are a teacher, substitute teach or employee of the school
- The alleged victim is between the ages of 16-26 years old and receives special education services
- You are a person licensed/employed at a child care organization, foster family home, or a foster family group home
No matter what scenario above fits your circumstances, a third degree criminal sexual conduct is a felony punishable by:
● Imprisonment for not more than 15 years in prison
● You will be subject to mandatory minimum sentencing of one year in prison
● You will be required to wear an electronic tether for the rest of your life
● You will be required to register on the Michigan Sex Offender Registry
MICHIGAN SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION
If you are a person convicted of criminal sexual conduct third degree, you will have to register with the Michigan Offender Registry either quarterly or three times a year.
Having to register as a sex offender with the Michigan Registry has certain stigmas attached to it that may tarnish your reputation, and your way of life, forever.
Registering with the Michigan Sex Registry is a black mark on your criminal record forever.
As an adult it may not only negatively affect your personal life, but your professional life as well. As a teenager it ruins any possibility of advancing your life to its fullest potential.
IN ORDER TO PROPERLY FIGHT THE MICHIGAN PENALTIES THAT COME ALONG WITH CSC THIRD DEGREE CHARGES – HERE IS WHAT YOU NEED:
You need a lawyer who does nothing but sexual assault cases, and who can do them in their sleep!
As soon as you learn that you are being either charged or are part of a criminal investigation for third degree criminal sexual conduct, you must contact attorney Nicole Blank Becker immediately! It will be one of the best decisions you make to save your life and your freedom.
It’s important to note that a majority of lawyers who do not routinely handle sex related cases are not aware of all the penalties and nuances that come along with being charged and sentenced to criminal sexual conduct third degree, thus they are not qulified to give you legal advice of any kind.
They are surprised when they get to sentencing and the state and Judge are discussing sentencing you to a minimum sentence of one year in prison. Ignorance is not bliss when it comes to your freedom!
Another issue is that many lawyers that “claim” to do sex crimes don’t know all of the defense possibilities to combat these kinds of charges.
An example is if you are charged with a sex crime, and are between the ages of 18-24 at the time of sentencing, you may be eligible for a program that is called the Holmes Youthful Trainee Act, HYTA, MCL 762.11, which allows you to still have a very bright future ahead.
WHEN THE STAKES ARE THIS HIGH, YOU NEED THE ABSOLUTE BEST ON YOUR SIDE! YOU NEED ATTORNEY NICOLE BLANK BECKER!
Nicole Blank Becker has years of experience with all of the Michigan criminal sexual conduct charges, and she knows exactly what to do the moment she is hired.
When the penalties are this steep, don’t settle for just any lawyer. You need an attorney who focuses solely on sexual conduct in Michigan.
Nicole’s 20+ years of experience under her belt speak for itself. Having been both a prosecutor and a criminal defense attorney, Nicole Blank Becker’s skills, along with her intense understanding of the law and Michigan sentencing guidelines, earned her the title of Chief of the Sex Crimes Unit.
As the Chief of the Sex Crime Unit, Nicole was the one in charge of teaching both the other attorneys and the police how to properly handle sex charges, like 3rd degree CSC.
Nicole has either studied sentencing guidelines, read, charged, negotiated or went to jury trial on sex crimes everyday. As the prior Chief of the Sex Crime Unit, Nicole has truly seen it all.
Nicole Blank Becker knows all of the idiosyncrasies that come along with sexual assault charges, and she will use those skills to get the absolute best possible outcome in the fight for your life.
Nicole knows exactly how to navigate the system in order to best serve you and your needs. She has the experience needed and is ready to get the best defense and strategy together for the future fight of your life. She also prides herself on keeping a great attorney-client relationship, and all confidential or sensitive information you say to her remains exactly that, 100% confidential.
The sooner you call attorney Nicole Blank Becker and get her involved, the better your outcome will be. Call the Blank Law, PC law firm today for your free consultation at (248) 515-6583, or reach out to us through our contact form here.
3150 Livernois Rd. Suite 126
We accept the following payment methods:
We serve the following counties: Macomb County, Oakland County, Wayne County, Washtenaw County, Ingham County, Lapeer County, Genesee County, Livingston County, etc.
We serve the following cities: Center Line, Eastpointe, Fraser, Grosse Pointe Shores, Memphis, Mount Clemens, New Baltimore, Richmond, Roseville, St. Clair Shores, Sterling Heights, Utica, Warren, Auburn Hills, Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clarkston, Clawson, Farmington, Farmington Hills, Fenton, Ferndale, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Keego Harbor, Lake Angelus, Lathrup Village, Madison Heights, Northville, Novi Oak Park, Orchard Lake Village, Pleasant Ridge, Pontiac, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak, South Lyon, Southfield Sylvan Lake, Troy, Walled Lake, Wixom, Allen Park, Belleville, Dearborn Heights, Dearborn, Detroit, Ecorse, Flat Rock, Garden City, Gibraltar, Grosse Pointe, Grosse Pointe Farms, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe Shores, Grosse Pointe Woods, Hamtramck, Harper Woods, Highland Park, Inkster, Lincoln Park, Livonia, Melvindale, Northville, Plymouth, River Rouge, Riverview, Rockwood, Romulus, Southgate, Taylor, Trenton, Wayne, Westland, Woodhaven and Wyandotte.