Michigan Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges
In Michigan law, sexual offenses are called criminal sexual conduct (CSC). The charges for the sex crime vary significantly depending on the alleged conduct.
Michigan Criminal Sexual Conduct
Criminal sexual conduct in Michigan has four distinct charges, and they are as follows:
CSC first degree is the most serious sexual conduct charge in Michigan. This is considered a capital offense wherein the person convicted may face a CSC 1st degree Michigan penalty of life in prison.
There are several ways that CSC first degree is defined. There are also several types of action that may result in a CSC first degree charge. Some of them are as follows:
- Sexual penetration of a child under age 13
- Sexual penetration of another person while committing any other felony
- Sexual penetration with a person that has a mental or physical disability
- Sexual penetration of another person when you are armed with a weapon
Second degree criminal sexual conduct is a less severe case, but is still a felony with severe penalties. The CSC 2nd degree Michigan penalty may include 15 years in prison, lifetime electronic monitoring, and registration in the Michigan Sex Offender Registry.
A CSC second degree charge usually involves intentional unwanted touching of someone for sexual gratification. The secon degree criminal sexual conduct charge has put some emphasis on power relationships and the abuses of those relationships, for example a teacher and a student.
CSC 3rd degree is more comparable to CSC 1st degree as it is the other felony sexual penetration crime among the four CSC degrees.
The CSC 3rd degree Michigan penalty may include up to 15 years in prison, sex offender registration, and other penalties. With that said, the lifetime monitoring penalty is not expressly included under this charge. A third degree criminal sexual conduct sex offense is also what is known as statutory rape.
Statutory rape is a complicated crime. The alleged victim of this sexual assault might have willingly engaged in a sexual act, but the state law defines it as a crime because of who the victim is (victim was under the age of consent in Michigan) not because he or she felt violated.
A CSC fourth degree charge is a misdemeanor. If convicted, the CSC 4th degree Michigan penalty for the offender can be sentenced by imprisonment for not more than two years, a fine of a certain amount, or both. This charge also includes probation and possible sex offender registration requirements.
With CSC fourth degree, consent is a significant element. CSC 4th degree prohibits any sexual contact if the alleged victim is between the ages of 13 and 16 and the alleged suspect is five years or older than the victim.
Hire Nicole Blank Becker to Handle Your Criminal Sexual Conduct Cases
The criminal sexual conduct charges in Michigan are serious. If you’ve been charged with CSC, you will need a top criminal sexul conduct attorney to defend your rights.
Nicole Blank Becker has represented clients that have been charged with various Michigan sex crimes, as well as throughout the United States. In over 20 years of practice, Nicole has served as the Chief of the Child Abuse Unit and the Chief of the Sex Crimes Unit in Macomb County, prior to going into private practice. She has tried thousands of sexual assault cases and her experiences in these fields put her in a league of her own when it comes to CSC offenses.
Nicole will use her knowledge and experience to aggressively fight for you. Additionally, she understands the importance of the attorney-client relationship and offers an initial free consultation to everyone.
Contact attorney Nicole Blank Becker for your free initial consultation today!